top of page

Palm Spin 101

Skill level: ADVANCED NINJA WITH NO FEAR

The palm spin is one of my favorite moves. It took me almost four months to get the skill. It occurred quickly after getting my switchblade (a similar move), and it actually kind of happened by mistake. (Best mistake EVER.)

My first suggestion for achieving a palm spin is to get your switchblade down. See below.

I was more than excited to get this skill. The switchblade is not only difficult but extremely scary for someone who has never done it before. You are flying through the air holding onto the bar with one arm like a crazy person while throwing your legs out in front of you so that if you fall there is nothing to support you. Sounds easy. I tried over and over again until I was confident enough to know I would make it around. It's not always about being able to do the skill physically, but being able to get past the mental block that stands in your way.

Mental block (n.)- An imaginary reason why you can't perform a skill.

Thank you brain.

ONTO THE INFAMOUS PALM SPIN.

I mentioned earlier that I learned the palm spin by accident. Here's how.

One day I was at the gym practicing my switchblade so I would be more confident and have more control over the skill. I must have had too much coffee or something because I casted too hard and ended up landing on my butt and bouncing off of the bar forward onto my feet.

I was onto something. I had made it to the other side!

I started thinking. I could do the same exact thing but this time bounce off the bar and turn to re- grab it. I casted even harder and missed my butt completely and landed on my feet on the other side of the bar. This was progress. I kept trying with my persistent hard headed attitude until I was able to go over the bar, half turn, and re- catch it. I had mastered the palm spin.

The main question becomes: What are my tips for YOU?

1. DON'T THINK ABOUT DYING. YOU WILL BE FINE.

2. Master your switchblade. Make it afraid of you.

3. Remember how hard you went for your switchblade? Go harder.

4. DO NOT CLOSE YOUR EYES. In fact, use your eyes to spot the bar in the direction you are turning. Once over the bar, look over your shoulder again to see where you need to re- grab.

5. This is a big one- remember when you were little and you would hold your arms straight out in front of you and trick your friends into thinking one arm was longer than the other? (No? Okay, maybe it was just me.) The same shoulder shrug you use to make your arm longer is the same one you use for this skill. You have to push down on the bar with your supporting arm to make more space for your giant cannonball looking body. (Trust me.)

6. Speaking of cannon balls, this is the tightest one you will ever do. If I'm judging you at a pool, this one better be a 9.5 or higher.

7. Lean your weight over the side you started your cast on. This sounds confusing so let me try to explain. Once you cast and bring your knees into your 10.0 cannonball position, lean your weight over the bar and a little to the side you want to land on. (I hope that makes sense.)

8. Once you hit your palm spin CELEBRATE BECAUSE YOU ARE OFFICIALLY AN ADVANCED NINJA WITH NO FEAR. Good work.

If you have questions please ask below!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page