top of page

Calisthenics: A Beginning

I have quickly learned to love the fast growing sport of calisthenics. You may also recognize calisthenics by it's other names such as: street workout, Barstarzz, or even just bars in general. With a background in gymnastics and a love for all things challenging, I was more than excited to try these new freestyle and static moves.

The sport differs from gymnastics in many ways. First, the skills being performed are not on the wood coated fiberglass bars that gymnasts use, but metal bars you may find in your local park. During competitions there is no ten point scale used to judge routines based on perfection. Instead of worrying about pointed toes and straight legs, judges look for creativity and static strength on the bars as well as on the ground. Lastly, what drew me most to the sport of calisthenics is the overwhelming amount of support each athlete gives to one another. Oh, and did I mention it's free?

So how did my calisthenics journey begin?

A good friend of mine that I had worked with introduced me to the sport. I was amazed by the upper body strength and agility that each of his moves held. At one point I caught myself wondering why he didn't care about how clean his skills were until I realized, that isn't what the sport is all about.

I immediately began working on some of the basics. I wasn't unfamiliar to the idea of 'chin ups' but had never tried a 'muscle up' before. This move not only consists of a chin up, but continues the motion above the bar until the person performing the action is supporting themselves with locked arms.

I thought to myself, "It can't be that hard... I GOT THIS."

I was more than wrong.

My first attempt looked like an overly excited dog jumping up to a counter top only to find he couldn't reach. There were several more failed attempts before finally, one chicken wing (elbow) at a time, and an alarming boob smashing feeling, I made it to the top. WORTH IT.

Since that day I haven't looked back. I push myself more and more each time I'm on the bar and the feeling I get after accomplishing a new move is indescribable. I encourage everyone to give calisthenics a try knowing that we all start somewhere.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page