top of page

Baby Steps


I usually take the elevator.

I’m that person riding the escalator in the mall looking down at everyone taking the slower less efficient stairs.

You can catch me on the moving sidewalk in the airport riding by like I’m on a Disney Princess float.

I’m exaggerating.

I don’t love to use stairs in everyday life but I do love to use them for my workout. In fact, stairs are my go-to. Not only do I prefer running stairs to plain old running, it is more aerobic and a higher calorie burning exercise.

Need more convincing?

Stairs offer less impact than running. The vertical movement helps build lean muscle in your glutes and lower legs. Heart rate is increased which helps burn fat calories faster than you can say “pizza.” (Maybe not that fast). If it’s raining you can run stairs indoors. If you’re just running laps indoors it may cause some concern from others around you.

Here’s a list of the equipment you’ll need.

  1. Running shoes.

  2. A bottle of water. This can be used for drinking or to pour on your face to hide the tears.

  3. Headphones. You’ll need these to drown out the sound of your lungs hating you.

  4. There is no fourth item which means no excuses.

Start with 10 minutes of continuous movement and work your way up. If you find yourself questioning your will to live after your third flight up, KEEP GOING. YOU CAN DO THIS ROCKY BALBOA.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page